CONSULTA GRATIS 602-989-5000
Blog

What You Need to Know About Arizona DUI Laws & Penalties

Though no one should ever drive under the influence, people do make mistakes from time to time.  If you have been pulled over for DUI, it is important to know your rights under Arizona’s DUI laws and penalties.  It is your right to respectfully and politely refuse a field sobriety test.  You may still be required (or it may be in your best interest) to take a breathalyzer or undergo blood or urine testing to determine your blood alcohol level.  And, if you have been arrested for DUI, the most important thing to know is that you should not say anything and the first call you make should be to your lawyer.  An experienced and knowledgeable DUI attorney can help you navigate the legal system and help you get the best possible outcome.  With the help of an attorney, you may be able to avoid a DUI conviction and/or jail time.  While state laws vary significantly, the Arizona Department of Transportation (ADOT) elaborates on the specific Arizona DUI laws and penalties:

DUI (alcohol concentration of .08 or more)

  • First offense: You will be jailed for not less than 10 consecutive days and fined not less than $1,250. You will also be required to undergo alcohol screening/education/treatment and to equip any vehicle you operate with a certified ignition interlock device, and be ordered to perform community service.
  • Second and subsequent offenses: You will be jailed for not less than 90 days and fined not less than $3,000 and your license will be revoked for 12 months. You will also be required to undergo alcohol screening/education/treatment and to equip any vehicle you operate with a certified ignition interlock device, and be ordered to perform community service.

Extreme DUI

  • This category of DUI applies to a person with an alcohol concentration of 0.15 or higher.
  • First offense: You will be jailed for not less than 30 consecutive days with no eligibility for probation or suspended sentence and fined not less than $2,500. You will also be required to undergo alcohol screening/education/treatment and be ordered to perform community service and to equip any vehicle you operate with a certified ignition interlock device.
  • Second and subsequent offenses: You will be jailed for not less than 120 days, fined not less than $3,250 and your license will be revoked for 12 months. You will also be required to undergo alcohol screening/education/treatment and to equip any vehicle you operate with a certified ignition interlock device, and be ordered to perform community service.

Arizona is a “no-tolerance” state when it comes to DUIs so it is imperative that if you have been arrested for DUI that you call an experienced DUI attorney immediately.  Your attorney may be able to help you get your charges reduced or even completely dismissed.

 

reprenstation you deserve

CONSULTA GRATUITA CON UN ABOGADO

En nuestras consultas, nos dedicaremos a resolver sus dudas, explicar sus opciones y su primera asesoría es completamente gratis. Nos aseguraremos de conocer los detalles de su caso para que pueda tener el mejor acompañamiento posible. Contamos con los mejores abogados especializados para darle las mejores opciones y saber cómo proceder ante su situación legal.

CONSULTA GRATUITA >

LOS MEJORES ABOGADOS DE PHOENIX

avvo

the national trial lawyers
bbb
nacdl
avvo rating superb
federal bar associates
Alcock Law Firm

Alcock & Associates P.C.
2 North Central Avenue, 26th Floor
Phoenix AZ 85004

602-989-5000
© 2020 Alcock & Associates, P.C. | Diseño del sitio web por: My Biz Niche © 2020 Alcock & Associates, P.C.
Diseño del sitio web por: My Biz Niche

Estamos Abiertos Durante La Pandemia

Llama ya para una consulta y evaluación de tu caso totalmente GRATIS

Alcock & Associates P.C.
2 North Central Avenue, 26th Floor
Phoenix AZ 85004